Telephone conversation with President of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko,

The two presidents further discussed the situation that has developed following the presidential election in Belarus including with due regard to external pressure. The Russian side reaffirmed its readiness to render the necessary assistance to resolve the challenges facing Belarus based on the principles of the Treaty on the Creation of a Union State, as well as through the Collective Security Treaty Organisation, if necessary. Läs pressmeddelande

Anm : Den organisation för kollektiv säkerhet som anges återges här:

Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO)

is currently made up of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan.

The Organisation’s objectives are strengthening peace, international and regional security and stability, and the collective protection of freedom, territorial integrity, and sovereignty of its member-states, to be achieved first and foremost through political means.

On May 15, 1992, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan signed the Tashkent Collective Security Treaty (CST). Azerbaijan signed the treaty on September 24, 1993, Georgia on September 9, 1993, and Belarus on December 31, 1993.

The treaty entered into force on April 20, 1994 for a term of five years, with the possibility of an extension. On April 2, 1999, the presidents of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan signed a protocol to extend the treaty for further five years. However, Azerbaijan, Georgia, and Uzbekistan declined the treaty extension.

It was decided at the Moscow session of the CST on May 14, 2002, to convert the CST into a full-fledged international organisation: the Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO).

On December 2, 2004, the UN General Assembly passed a resolution granting the CSTO observer status. Läs avtalet