Nordic countries halt all regional cooperation with Russia,

“The military attack on Ukraine makes it absolutely impossible to continue cooperation,” a statement from the Nordic Council of Ministers reads. The structures of regional cooperation have been carefully developed since the early 1990s. They are now collapsing and might not rebuild any time soon.

“The cooperation has all the time had the aim to build trust, mutual understanding and development in the region,” the Nordic body underlines.

For more than 25 years, the Nordic Council of Ministers has supported joint activities with nearby Northwest Russia. The council is a body established by five Nordic countries; Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, as well as self-governing regions of Faroe Islands, Greenland and the Ålans Islands. Läs artikel